President Buhari okays 18 billion naira for take off of New Universities

Written by on June 22, 2021

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved a take-off grant of N18 billion for the establishment of new universities of technology and health sciences.
The new universities of technology will be located in Jigawa and Akwa Ibom states, while the universities of health sciences will be established in Azare, Bauchi State and Ila Orangun, Osun State.
Announcing the establishment of the new institutions in Abuja on Monday, the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, said the objective is to stimulate rapid technological transformation of the country.
The Minister, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Sunny Echono, noted that the approval was also in fulfilment of President Buhari’s promise to establish a National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Abuja with six satellite universities of technology, one in each of the six geo-political zones of the country.
The minister said the new universities of technology will be established in 2021 while the upgrade of the existing four Universities of Technology and the National Institute of Technology will come on stream next year.

Credit: Guardian

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Always at its Peak

Current track

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :